An interesting problem

All Quick 'n Easy Web Builder support issues that are not covered in the forums below.
Post Reply
alex4orly
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:34 am

An interesting problem

Post by alex4orly »

Please visit this site to see : http://www.ourvilla.net.au/

To log in, use 221 and click oK

Then, select as an example : Music & Dance, inside it click on any option, then use the "x" at the top right to quit
Then, click on Video Clips, repeat the action and quit

Now, if you select any of them again, view a couple of clips, then hit the "<<<<<<" button at the bottm right, the dialog "Remembers" all the previous screens. It is the same Modal Dialog I am using for all the blue buttons to launch another topic and it is obviously the Browser's cache doing it.

Is there a way to clear the cache when the visitor hits the "X" to exit?

Thanks
User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 3399
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: An interesting problem

Post by Pablo »

This is expected behavior.
A dialog is just a hidden section on the page that is displayed when you trigger it. The content is not reloaded by the browser. when you hide and then show it.

You may be able to solve this with the 'open' event of the dialog. And use it to reload the inline frame via a (custom made) script.
alex4orly
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:34 am

Re: An interesting problem

Post by alex4orly »

But this is exactly what I do

When a menu / button option is selected - the Onclick triggers the following function / even

function showTopic(htmlPage)
{
pageName = htmlPage; // The argument here is passed from the onclick of the button calling it

$('#Dialog1').dialog('open'); // The Dialog is initially hidden on page load

var url = 'https://ourvilla.net.au/';
var goto = url.concat(pageName);
window.open(goto , 'InlineFrame1'); // Show the HTML page inside the iFrame
}

The same dialogue is used again and again for any of the buttons and it is open() on that click.
It opens / shows the hidden Modal dialog, then it loads the new page into the iFrame - but, for a moment - it shows the previous page inside that iFrame, that is what I am trying to resolve

So, how can I force it to "Forget" the previous page?

Thanks
User avatar
Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 3399
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 7:00 am
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: An interesting problem

Post by Pablo »

Maybe change the URL before you open the dialog?

Code: Select all

function showTopic(htmlPage)
{
   pageName = htmlPage; // The argument here is passed from the onclick of the button calling it

   var url = 'https://ourvilla.net.au/';
   var goto = url.concat(pageName);            
   window.open(goto , 'InlineFrame1'); // Show the HTML page inside the iFrame

   $('#Dialog1').dialog('open');  // The Dialog is initially hidden on page load
}
alex4orly
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:34 am

Re: An interesting problem

Post by alex4orly »

Yes, this works just fine

Thanks
Post Reply